I’m linked from statusrank.com?

July 2nd, 2007

I’m checking my referrers actively and I’ve got not one but two hits from http://statusrank.com/. What’s up with that? I don’t see any link to my blog on that site. Did someone add me to that page, or am I in someone’s private bookmarks there?

8 Responses to “I’m linked from statusrank.com?”

  1. jen says:

    I’m getting the same thing! Two of my websites are getting referrers from statusrank, but when i went to look, there’s no link. I even signed up to look around and couldn’t find anything. I’m totally confused, and when I googled, your journal was the only thing that came up. If you figure out what the hell it is, let me know lol.

  2. nitro2k01 says:

    Since you made the trouble of signing up, did you by any chance see a section for personal links?

  3. jen says:

    You can add links to cities (it’d be great if I knew what that meant….) and there’s links there, but I can’t find mine to save my life. I know I didn’t add it. And one site i’m getting hits from, it’s not really known, so I’m very confused. I can’t figure the site out for the life of me.

  4. Troels says:

    Hi. Fell over this discussion in googling for answers to why my humble university page (http://www.itu.dk/people/tcd) has been getting swamped with referrals from statusrank.com lately (8 ref’s on the 13th of July…!)? As you, I have never been aware of statusrank.com before. And the refered visitors seem to be coming from all diferent IP’s all over the world… I’m puzzled…

    15 minutes googling brought up only this discussion… I dare ask, did any of you find any solution or have any idea?


  5. nitro2k01 says:

    Not yet… One idea of mine is that they might have planted the referrers as some sort of viral marketing, but it seems far fetched? How many people do actually actively check their referrals? (Well, not only me appearantly)
    Another idea is that there’s a private link section or an RSS reader on statusrank, but according to Jen that’s not the case either.
    It’s just weird…

  6. Val says:

    I was trying to find an answer for this too. I also use Extreme Tracker, and got 9 hits from this site today. It’s really bizarre???

  7. nitro2k01 says:

    The only way I can think of is that they have planted the referrers. Which in itself is an excellent form of marketing, since it is very targeted.

  8. Val says:

    I asked extreme tracker about this, and they said the problem was solved and that they couldn’t disclose any specifics about it. I am no longer getting any referrals from the webpage now.

Leave a Reply

If you'd rather contact me directly, please use the following e-mail address: It appears that you have Javascript disabled. Please enable it to see my e-mail address.